List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from 1954 to 2023

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from 1954 to 2023

The Bharat Ratna is highest civilian award of the Republic of India. On 2nd January 1954, the former President of India, Dr Rajendra Prashad introduced this award. In past, this award was limited to only the field of Arts, Literature, Science and public services but later in December 2011 the criteria expanded to  “any field of human endeavour”. The award came into motion with along with three Padma awards named as “Padma Vibhusan”, “Padma Bhushan”, “Padma Shree”. The first recipient of this award was scientist C.V. Raman, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and politician C.Rajagopalachari, who was honoured in 1954. A maximum three nominee may be awarded this award every year with the recommendation of Prime Minister to President of India.

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners

Here, we are providing the List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from the year 1954 to till today.

1. sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1954 Philosper, Teacher, 1st Vice President of India & 2nd president of India.
2. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari 1954 He was last governor of British India and also an Indian Freedom fighter
3. Sir C.V. Raman 1954 For his great work in the field of Physics.
4. Bhagwan Das 1955 Literature and also he was an Indian freedom fighter from Uttar Pradesh.
5. Sir Moksdhagundam Visvesvarayya 1955 He was an Architect and Engineer and also Diwan of princely state of Mysore.
6. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 First Prime minister of India, an Indian freedom fighter and writer.
7. Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 An Indian freedom fighter, Home Minister of Indian Union from Uttarakhand.
8. Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958 An Educationist and Social reformer from Maharashtra.
9. B.C. Roy 1961 Physician, Politician and former Chief Minister of West Bengal
10. Purushottam Das Tandon 1961 An Indian freedom fighter, An Educationist from Uttar Pradesh.
11. Babu Rajendra Prashad 1962 First President of India, an Indian freedom fighter.
12. Zakir Hussain 1962 Former President of India and a Scholar.
13. Pandurang Vaman Kane 1962 Ideologist and Sanskrit scholar.
14. Lal BAhadur Shastri 1966 Second Prime minister of India.
15. Indira Gandhi 1971 She was former and first lady prime minister of India. Belongs from Uttar Pradesh.
16. V.V. Giri 1975 Former President of India.
17. K.Kamaraj 1976 Freedom fighter and former Chief Minister of Tamilnadu.
18. Mother Teresa A noble laureate, a foreigner from the Republic of Macedonia, for her for humanity.
19. Acharya Vinoda Bhave 1983 A Social reformer and Freedom fighter.
20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 A freedom fighter that belongs to Pakistan. The first non-citizen awarded Bharat Ratna.
21. M.G.Ramachandran 1988 Former Chief Minister of Tamilnadu, a popular Cinema actor.
22. B.R.Ambedkar 1990 An Architect, Social reformer, Economist. Played the key role in the formation of Indian constitution.
23. Nelson Mandela 1990  A leader from South Africa and first president of South Africa.
24. Rajiv Gandhi 1991 Former Prime minister of India.
25. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 1991 An Indian freedom fighter and first Home minister of India.
26. Morarji Desai 1991 Former Prime minister of India and Indian freedom fighter.
27. J.R.D.Tata 1992 An Industrialist and a Philanthropist.
28. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad 1992 An Indian freedom fighter and first Education minister of India.
29. Satyajit Ray 1992 Bengali film director and Oscar winner.
30. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam 1997 Former President of India, Scientist.
31. Guljarilal Nanda 1997 An Indian freedom fighter, former prime minister of India.
32. Aruna Ali 1997 An Indian freedom fighter.
33. M.S.Subbulakshmi 1998 Carnatic Music Vocalist.
34. Chidambaram 1998 An India freedom fighter and former Indian Union Minister of Agriculture.
35. Jayaprakash Narayan 1998 Freedom fighter and Social reformer.
36. Pandit Ravi Shankar 1999 Classical Sitarist.
37. Amartya Sen 1999 Indian Economist and Noble laureate.
38. Gopinath Bordoloi 1999 Indian Freedom fighter from Assam.
39. Lata Mangeshkar 2001 Hindi cinema playback singer.
40. Ustad Bismillah khan 2001 A classical Shahnai –Master.
41. Pandit Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi 2008 Hindustani Classical vocalist.
42. Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar 2014 Indian Cricket player.
43. C.N. Rao 2014 Indian Chemist, Man behind India’s Mars- Mission.
44. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 2015 Former Prime minister of India.
45. Madan Mohan Malviya 2015 Indian Politician and founder of Banaras Hindu University.
46. Bhupen Hazarika  2019 He was a playback singer, lyricist, musician, poet and film-maker from Assam
47. Nanaji Deshmukh 2019 social activist, was known for his immense contributions  in the field of education, health, and rural self-reliance
48. Pranab Mukherjee  2019 13th president of India from 2012 to 2017

Disclaimer:- All Information about “List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from 1954 to 2019”  has been referenced from the respective website, newspaper or other reliable sources available in the public domain. Although care has been taken to ensure the correctness of the information provided here, yet this website does not take any kind of responsibility regarding the content. Information may be obsolete partially or completely due to time-lapse.

3 thoughts on “List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from 1954 to 2023”

  1. List of bharatratna awardees declared on 25th Jan 2019 not given-but heading gives “up to 2019”
    Pl do not given mis headings

  2. central govt should have to give the Great former president award ” BHARTH RATHNA ” for the Social service works to The Shree Shree Shree Shivakumar Swamiji of Karnatak state… They have did an Tremendous work, and Key role in The Development for the poor Indian students for their Education…in the state of Karnatak.. And they are Role Model to our Indian Country… And Really… they are Role Model to our Indian Citizen…

  3. Dr. Shivakumar swamiji should be given BHARAT RATNA due to more social work fine to the poor family who are not able to send their children to school or Pay fees today nearly 10,000 children getting educated even the government would try to loot the public money every body wants to make money but siddaganga swamyiji want to give education and food who come to see if our honble prime minister has humanitarian he should immediately announce the award so all the people would cast the votes to bjp party for 2019 it’s our first request by all the Indian citizen


Leave a Comment